Flirting With Lesbians….and more

Who is in and out

it occurs to me that sometimes people need to have an external permission to be what they are

partly because I have been asked by several people for permission about them expressing their sexuality

I have given several men permission to be gay and a few women permission to be bisexual

Not that I have any power or ability or authority at all

but I still get asked and somehow, my granting permission has power because they give it power

I discovered this in an uncomfortable way

a lesbian pal of mine asked my advise – she had met a man who had all the qualities that she wanted in a woman and she just didn’t know what to do

I told her to consider whether it was the man or the qualities that he embodied were what was attractive

she said she wasn’t sure

I told her to let go of her hang up of gender and if these were qualities that she wanted in a partner and he was interested, then why not date him?

she was concerned about her lesbian identity and whether dating a man would mean that she wasn’t or couldn’t be again

I suggested that worrying about these things could prevent her from ever being happy in a relationship, so she had to decide which was more important – her lesbian identity or a happy relationship

SHe ended up dating him – a few weeks later, they threw a party and I was invited.

I liked the man very much on the spot – he was a science fiction geek who owned and ran a comic book store – but was a kind, funny and gentle man.

He asked to speak privately with me. Curious, I followed him outside

He thanked me for giving my friend permission to date him

I thought he was winding me up, because, seriously, I do not have that kind of power or control or authority; so I said, “well, I can take it away anytime”

and laughed

He nearly burst into tears – I was horrified that he actually thought I really had that power more than that I would used it badly –

other scenarios have been a lot lighter – several men were concerned about what women would think of them if they were gay – so I pointed out that if they were gay that women were not relevant to them – which seemed to be a great relief

because seriously, why would it matter what anyone that you weren’t in a relationship thinks of you?

Comments on: "Who is in and out" (1)

  1. Reblogged this on Living Well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

